Honey-Lavender Profiteroles

Honey-Lavender Profiteroles

For my family birthday get-together, I decided to forgo the typical birthday cake and ice cream and serve a twist on traditional profiteroles.  Before you think, “She had to make her OWN birthday dessert!?” know that both my husband and mom offered to make the dessert, but I’d had these in mind for weeks.

IMG_0727

So, instead, of sheet cake and Neopolitan, I turned to my cooking inspiration: Julia Child.  Pastry is typically something I have very little patience for, due to past bad experiences with pie dough.  However, this year, I  somewhat forced myself to conquer it, and have two great recipes that I am able to prepare with ease for my pies, tarts, and galette needs.  Now I’ve moved on to the impressive Pate a Choux – or the dough that’s used for eclairs, cream puffs/profiteroles, crullers, and the like – which is actually very, very easy to make.  When I was little, my favorite doughnut was the French Cruller.  I was delighted to find out that this dough is used for those, too.

IMG_0728

Right before I lightly flattened the peaks with a pastry brush and egg wash…

Honey-Lavender Profiteroles Pate a Choux gets its name from its appearance: small cabbages.  “Choux” is the French term for cabbage.  I piped mine, but you can also just drop the dough onto your sheet pan using spoons, too.  *If you don’t have piping bag, I’ve used plastic sandwich bags to pipe with great success.

Honey-Lavender Profiteroles

Honey-Lavender Profiteroles

Last week, we received a free KitchenAid ice cream maker for our stand mixer from a rebate offer, so I was anxious to try it out.  One of the flavors I’ve wanted to make ever since watching Steve Martin and Meryl Streep in It’s Complicated is honey-lavender. Meryl, a bakery owner, makes this for Steve one evening, and he raves about it.  (Do you like how I used their first names, like we’re on a first-name basis?  I wish!)  Steve and Meryl – my favorites.

When I heard of this combination, I imagined it to be beautifully light and floral with an herbaceous sweetness.

Honey-Lavender Ice Cream

…and that was pretty accurate.  Traditional profiteroles are filled with ice cream and are topped with chocolate ganache.  Instead of using vanilla ice cream, I opted for this unique substitute, and instead of ganache, I drizzled them with raw honey.  Like Ina Garten, I like finishing dishes with bits of something that’s in the dish, so I sprinkled on the TINIEST bit of delicate, fragrant lavender.

I just put together and photographed a serving of these after baking and stuffing the profiteroles, so I haven’t served them to my family yet.  My best taste-tester gave them high praises this morning, though, so I’m anxious for my small crowd to try them.  The Pate a Choux turned out nicely puffed and airy.  They’re the perfect “vehicle” for the honey-lavender ice cream.

Honey-Lavender Profiteroles

Honey-Lavender Profiteroles

Honey Lavender Ice Cream Recipe (adapted from AlwaysOrderDessert

Ingredients
2 cups whole milk
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
1 Tbs. lavender buds, crushed
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 cup raw honey

Directions
In a small saucepan, combine the whole milk, heavy cream, lavender buds, sea salt, and honey. Heat on medium heat just until it starts to simmer, then remove from heat and let cool slightly. Transfer to an air-tight container, and let chill in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours, up to 24.

Once chilled, pass the mixture through a strainer to remove the lavender buds. Whisk briefly, and then pour into your ice cream maker, freezing according to manufacturer’s instructions.

The ice cream will be soft-serve texture after it runs through the ice cream maker; freeze for at least 4 hours before serving.

Pate a Choux (from Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking”)

Ingredients

1 Cup of Water
6 Tbsp Butter cut into cubes
Pinch of Salt
1 Tsp Sugar
Pinch of Nutmeg (optional)
¾ Cup of Plain Flour
4 Large Eggs

Egg Wash:
1 small egg, beaten and mixed with a little water

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425ºF.

Bring water to a boil in a pan with the butter, seasonings and sugar. Boil slowly until butter has melted.  Remove from heat and immediately pour in the flour and beat vigorously with a wooden spoon for several seconds to blend thoroughly.

Next, beat over a moderately high heat for 1 to 2 minutes until mixture begins to leave the side of the pan and form a mass.
Remove pan from heat and make a well in the centre of the mixture. Break one egg into the centre of the well and beat thoroughly until blended.
Continue with the remaining 3 eggs, beating them in one by one until combined and smooth.
Spoon mixture into a piping bag and then squeeze into mounds, about 1″ in diameter and ½” high onto the baking sheet.
Space the mounds about 2″ apart to allow for slight spreading.
Dip a pastry brush into the beaten egg and flatten each puff very slightly with the side of the brush, avoiding dripping egg down the puff onto the baking sheet.
Put the tray(s) into the upper and lower thirds of the preheated oven.
Bake for about 20 mins until puffs have risen and are golden in colour.
Remove from oven and pierce the side of each puff with a sharp knife to let the steam out.  Put the trays back into the turned off oven and leave the doors ajar for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and put puffs onto a cooling rack.  Fill as desired.
9 thoughts on “Honey-Lavender Profiteroles

  1. Go the alternate birthday cakes. Especially if they’re ice cream filled. Ice cream trumps tradition any day of the week for me.

  2. […] was my 26th birthday, and I spent a fun evening with my favorite people.   They loved the honey-lavender profiteroles that I served for dessert, so that made for a happy birthday […]

  3. laurasmess says:

    I’ve never made choux pastry… to be honest, the whole idea scares me!! I have used lavender on many occasions though, and it’s one of my favourite-ever additions to sweet custards, ice-creams and cakes. Love your photographs… happy birthday (albeit a little late!).

    • Don’t be afraid! It’s seriously SO easy. I made a pastry cream for it, and honestly, that was more temperamental than the pastry. Thank you for the comment and for following. I look forward to following you!

      • laurasmess says:

        Aw, thanks for the reassurance! Haha… it’s slightly amusing that the cream gave you more trouble (maybe I should start fearing pastry cream instead!). I’ll give these a go… I’ve always wanted to make a croquembouche so I guess mastering choux is a good start!

      • How ambitious! I can’t wait to see it if you do.

  4. Ms.Chef says:

    is it possible to just make lavender pastry cream and fill that with the cream puffs instead of the icecream?? would it be a good idea?

Leave a Reply

fridica

knitting and other adventures

glosswatch

humourless mummy, cuddly feminist

The Cosy Kitchen

Food. Friends. Fridays.

Lime + Barley

Recipes from a Camberwell kitchen

sweets and brains

Nelli's blog

The Good, the Bad and the Italian

food/films/families and more

Pandabear Prowess Kitcheness

Good Eats, Some Sweets & Satiety

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

taste of colours

everything has got taste

