Very Inspiring Blogger Award

inspiringbloggeraward2

The rules of the award process dictate the following as form of my acceptance:

1. Display the award logo on your blog.
2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
3. State 7 things about yourself .
4. Nominate 5 other bloggers for this award and show their links.
5. Go to their pages and tell them.

So the intriguing, multi-faceted, New Zealand blogger The Peckish Kiwi has nominated me for my very first blog award – The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. To say that I am thrilled is an understatement! When I woke up this morning and checked my WordPress notifications, I was elated. Having inspired such a creative soul across the world enough to select me as a nominee is inspiring in itself. Thank you, Mr. P.

In the short few months that I’ve been blogging, I’ve come across such stimulating, expressive, diverse, talented writers across the United States and around the world. They bring to my Reader an abundance of beautiful content – through both language and photography. I am daily thankful that I get to experience the world through various lenses – lenses that often focus on my favorite subject. Food! It’s incredible, the originality and vision I encounter every day.

Now, on to my seven “about me” tidbits…

1) I’m terrified of nearly every single insect and spider on Earth. Pretty much the only ones I can handle without screaming and heart palpitations are ants and gnats. Everyone says, “Oh, don’t be silly! You’re bigger than them!” I’m fully aware of that, but it still doesn’t ease my fear and disgust when I see caterpillars, beetles, and the like. My WIDs (Weapons of Insect Destruction) MUST have long handles, so as to keep a good length between the enemy and me. Suitable WIDs include brooms and fly swatters. Don’t even get me started on cicada season.

2) If I could meet anyone from the past, it would be Julia Child. Thanks to PBS, I get to watch her on “Baking with Julia” every Sunday evening, and I probably squeal, “Ohhhh! She’s so adorable!” at least eight times per 25-minute episode. I think I recently read that her great-nephew, Alex Prud’homme, is releasing another book that they had begun working on prior to her passing. Exciting news.

3) I’m a Grammar Police. This is not to say that I never make mistakes, of course. However, it’s like my brain is wired with a red pen for instances of misuse of was/were, their/there, you’re/your, etc. I’m one of those people who, when losing a petty argument, might just turn to correcting your grammar and spelling. For the record, that tactic typically has a low success rate.

4) My least favorite foods are bananas and raw tomatoes. I’ve been turned off by the flavor, texture, and scent of both for as long as I can remember, but I love tomato products (tomato sauces, salsas, ketchup). Mushrooms and olives were on this list up until a few months ago, when I somewhat suddenly decided they are edible.

5) I learned to downhill ski last winter, and after this winter’s skiing season, I can say that I thoroughly enjoy it. My husband taught me and was SO patient. Were there moments of sassy frustration the first few times? Ohhhh, most definitely.

6) The cooking method in which I’m least experienced is deep frying. I think my fear of at-home frying comes from the talk on grease fires in my high school cooking class. Ever since, I just imagine a pop of grease turning into a “fried chicken fire” nightmare. Luckily, there aren’t too many foods that I crave that require deep frying. I do enjoy the occasional doughnut or piece of crisp chicken, but thankfully, there are wonderful businesses who make those so I don’t have to.

7) I detest professional sports, but love motivational sports movies. The amount of money earned by coaches and “pro” ball-throwers blows my mind and vexes me to no end. In no way am I detracting from the immense talent and abilities of these athletes, but when teachers make a tiny, tiny fraction of the money these entertainers, I think priorities are enormously skewed in my country. That’s a rant for another day.

Now on to my five nominees.

1) Bunny.Eats.Design – Genie’s blog is one of the first that really caught my attention when I began my own. Her content is consistently interesting, with beautiful photography of food and her adorable bunny, of course.

2) The Paddington Foodie – Also one of the first blogs I started following, The Paddington Foodie is constantly posting dishes that make me want to cook them immediately. She and I share a love of many of the same foods, and on more than one occasion, we have cooked very similar dishes around the same time.

3) Vittle Monster – Probably one of the bloggers I see the most on my Reader, Vittle Monster and I share one big thing – our love of food! It’s always fun reading about and seeing the restaurants and dishes he reviews. It’s inspiring to see so many different dining offerings in his neck of the US.

4) JT in Seoul – This blogger photographs the most stunning images of life in Seoul, South Korea – my birthplace. His posts are always beautifully emotive, and offer a glimpse of what my homeland is like.

5) Daisy and the Fox – Bec’s blog might’ve been the first that I read once I joined WordPress. I love seeing young, accomplished writers, and she certainly has made a presence in the blog world. Her food posts always include such amazing imagery. She inspires me to hone the art of photographing my own food .

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Hah, Mrs P is right there with you on 1, 3 (which makes her such a huge secret asset to the blog) and the banana part of 4. I find raw tomatoes difficult to deal with as well.

  2. […] your vegetables.  The original recipe calls for zucchini and tomatoes, but if you read my last post, you know that I don’t love them. I  ended up substituted red onion and […]

  3. dandrewsmith says:

    You are pretty wonderful!

Leave a Reply

fridica

knitting and other adventures

glosswatch

humourless mummy, cuddly feminist

The Cosy Kitchen

Food. Friends. Fridays.

Lime + Barley

Recipes from a Camberwell kitchen

sweets and brains

Nelli's blog

The Good, the Bad and the Italian

food/films/families and more

Pandabear Prowess Kitcheness

Good Eats, Some Sweets & Satiety

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

taste of colours

everything has got taste

